Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review NOTHING "Tired of Tomorrow"

Veröffentlicht am 5. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Nothing, Post-Rock, Rock, Alternative Rock, Modern Rock, Grunge, CD Review, News

(8/10) Nothing's second strike is called "Tired of Tomorrow". The band from Philadelphia released their debut "Guilty of Everything" two years ago and I was already at that time impressed by the quality of their songs, something that raised the expectation when it comes to the second album of this four piece.

After having heard the album several times I can assure you, that "Tired of Tomorrow" became at least as good as the debut. I actually think, that it's a bit better since the band grew over time which enabled them to get even more out of their alternative rock sound.

Domenic Palermo and his gang starts with "Fever Queen". It's a robust wall of sounds that marks the beginning of this tune. What follows is a melancholic rock song that implements a picture of fragile beautiness in your mind. The song is reduced to it's minimum, something that doesn't go for the sound which is rich and organic. "Fever Queen" is creating with little means a feeling of trance, that includes a warm expression.

Another song, another mood. "Vertigo Flowers" is a bit faster than the opening double. Here we are talking about a swinging and almost light-hearted rock song that comes with a good melody. What both mentioned tracks have in common is the wide soundscapes Nothing creates. Actually this is something they do with each of the tracks on "Tired of Tomorrow".

A steady drum beat kicks-off "Nineteen Ninety Heaven", something that continues through the entire song, accompanied by a gentle guitar and soulful vocals.

But also grunge comes back in the sound of Nothing. Esp. "Curse of the Sun" and even more "Eaten by Worms" bring back a certain Seattle-vibe, not in the silent moments, but the downtuned guitar parts show some parallels with Nirvana & Co.

The title track is the last one on Nothing's second longplayer. I can understand that the guys have chosen this song as the name giver for the record. The number is great and special. It is an intensive composition that is mainly build on piano and vocals. This tune is the one, that has probably the most emotional depth. It catches you immediately with its beauty, covered in grey shades.

Nothing started successfully with their debut and the four-piece continues their journey on the new album "Tired of Tomorrow". With such an album the guys do not have any reason for being 'tired of tomorrow'. They should approach the future with full energy and curiosity about what's supposed to come.





  1. Fever Queen
  2. The Dead are Dumb
  3. Vertigo Flowers
  4. ACD (Abcessive Compulsive Disorder)
  5. Nineteen Ninety Heaven
  6. Curse of the Sun
  7. Eaten by Worms
  8. Everyone is Happy
  9. Our Plague
  10. Tired of Tomorrow


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Alternative Rock

Release Date EU: May 13th, 2016

CD review NOTHING "Tired of Tomorrow"