Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MYRATH "Legacy"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Myrath, Rock, Power Metal, Symphonic Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Myrath is a very interesting band for many reasons. First of all, Myrath comes from Tunesia, a country that is known for many thing, but surely not for metal music. Second of all it's the music itself that is quite fascinating.

Myath started with death metal covers before the band went into their next phase, covering only Symphony X songs. It was in 2005 when the guys released their first disc which was an EP called "Double Face".

"Legacy" the new album, is so far already their forth full-length release and it's another leg in the rise of Myrath. The record contains eleven songs that are progressive rock/metal, kept pretty melodic. I would compare the guys with Threshold and the mentioned Symphony X, although the new tracks have nothing to do with the cover song-era.

What makes Myrath a bit more standing out from other bands in this genre is the combination of western rock music and arabic sound elements and instruments. Yes, the guys aren't the only ones doing this, but still, it's something they have created as a trademark and it makes them recognizable. And in the end it's also a good example that combining various influences just leads to a better result. Sticking within the known will never lead to development - something that's nowadays even more important than ever before.

"Jasmin" is the short intro that shows already many influences of Myrath's home country. The next song is called "Believer" which is a full body rock song. It's a rhythm section that powers this tune very much, but it's the well-done melodies that make the number to a real highlight on "Legacy".

Another track I want to mention is entitled "Nobody's Lives". Here we talk about a five minutes long tune, kept in a moderate pace. It's also a flagship for East meets West. Lyrics are kept partly in arabic and partly in english and also the musical styles, included in this number, are crossing boarders constantly. In my point of view it's Myrath's masterpiece, at least on their new album.

In case you're looking for more bombastic stuff, no worries, the band can cater for this too. "Through your Eyes" has a bombastic intro before the verse is kept more silent and soulful. The switch comes in the bridge to the chorus when power increases, something that leads a to forceful rocker with a certain catchiness. 

And as a cherry on the cake the sound of "Legacy" is well done too.

Myath is one of these bands I haven't heard about up till now. "Legacy" is their first album that made it into my player and it was a very positive experience listening to these guys.





  1. Jasmin
  2. Believer
  3. Get your Freedom Back
  4. Nobody's lives
  5. The Needle
  6. Through your Eyes
  7. The Unburnt
  8. I Want to Die
  9. Duat
  10. Endure the Silence
  11. Storm of Lies


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2016

CD review MYRATH "Legacy"