Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review LACUNA COIL "Delirium"

Veröffentlicht am 27. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Lacuna Coil, News, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, CD Review

(7/10) Right before the starting summer period Lacuna Coil reminds us, that Italy has also a darker side than only beach, sun and sea. The Italian powerhouse releases these days their new longplayer "Delirium", an album that was inspired by a visit of an abandoned sanatorium.

Lacuna Coil's 8th album features 12 new songs which are in general harder than what we have heard from the guys in the past. The heavy riffing has, in addition, also a far more modern touch. If all this was based on the fact that Lacuna Coil had to replace guitarist Cris Migliore and drummer Cristiano Mozzati, is something I can't answer. However, it's obvious that Lacuna Coil started to develop their sound.

Especially the first half of "Delirium" contains songs that sounds pretty good. The dark vibe is still there but turned more into a certain madness, not for nothing the album is called "Delirium". But it's the hard guitar sound that moves the band a bit more towards nu metal. Sometimes I was reminded of Korn when I listened to these songs.

Next ti the guitars it's Andrea Ferro's deep growls that adds an extra portion of heaviness to quite some of the numbers on "Delirium". Good to know that there is a with Cristina Scabbia a constant factor in Lacuna Coil's sound. She does again an excellent job and her clean vocals are the sunshine on this otherwise pretty brutal album.

Songs like the Opener "The House of Shame" are brutal riff monsters. Starting with a few seconds of keyboard samples the opener turns into a groove metal engine, enriched by Scabbia's clean vocals. "Broken Things" is following the same consturction principles before the title track points to the darker side of Lacuna Coil.

A first break comes with "Downfall", the most silent track on the record. Actually it's a not too bad number, but it's also a bit lifeless and too much on the safe side. "Take me Home" is build on harder riffs again, but also not really rocket science.

Fortunatelly the end is more exciting again. "Claustrophobia" and the grooving "Ultima Ratio" are well done tracks that brings back partly the harshness from the beginning.

"Delirium" became a good album. It lives up to expectations, is a bit harder than what I thought but feels also like an inbetween album. It looks like the Italian powerhouse embarked on a journey towards slightly new sounds and "Delirium" is the first leg. After having listened to album several times I can conclude that I like the move, even though it took my a while.





  1. The House Of Shame
  2. Broken Things
  3. Delirium
  4. Blood, Tears, Dust
  5. Downfall
  6. Take Me Home
  7. You Love Me 'Cause I Hate You
  8. Ghost In The Mist
  9. My Demons
  10. Claustrophobia
  11. Ultima Ratio


Label: Century Media

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: May 27th, 2015

CD review LACUNA COIL "Delirium"