Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DUST "Soulburst"

Veröffentlicht am 28. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Dust, News, CD Review, Classic Rock, Hardrock, New, Rock

(7/10) Again Sweden, again Stcokholm. The density of rock and metal bands in IKEA country is unbelievable. Dust is one of them, releasing their new longplayer "Soulburst" as we speak.

The new album is their second strike, following "Tequila Shiver". Dust's music is described as a mix of Free, Dio and Deep Purple. After having heard the longplayer several times I think, that these influences describe the sound on "Soulburst" pretty well.

The songs on "Soulburst" are good hardrock numbers, not more, but also not less. It's more Roger Salanders rough vocals and the fact that the album was recorded live in the studio which makes it to a special one.

Songs like "King is Coming" show a band that plays together pretty tight and the soulful ballad "Waiting For You" is a reference to David Coverdale's Whitesnake. It's the blues that drives this number that is definitely a highlight on this longplayer.

In the end "Soulburst" belongs to this kind of longplayers that are done very well, including good songs performed by good musicians and each of the tunes is entertaining. "Soulburst" spreads a good party vibe but there is also not that much new that gives you a 'wow effect'. Solid.





  1. Sun rising
  2. King is Coming
  3. Come On
  4. Waiting For You
  5. Bad Boy
  6. Free
  7. Soul Stealer
  8. Keltic Wheel
  9. Blind


Label: Attitude

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: May 20th, 2016

CD review DUST "Soulburst"