Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DEVINE ELECTRIC "Devine Electric"

Veröffentlicht am 14. Mai 2016 von Markus W. in Devine Electric, News, CD Review, Hardrock, Sleaze Rock, Rock, Classic Rock, ACDC

(6/10) Australia, homebase of bands like AC/DC, Rose Tattoo and Airbourne. But the fifth continent has more to offer. Devine Electric is one of these bands, coming from Down Under that play hardrock too, without being known very well outside of Australia.

The four-piece began their musical career in 2005 and their music is inspired by some of the mentioned bands, but also the sound of the Sunset Strip had an impact on Devine Electric's music.

The latest album of the Sydney-based band is simply named "Devine Electric" and features nine new songs. Eli Reskov, Ivor Radocaj, Paul Corben and Zoran Mrakic, the names behind Devine Electric, released an album that sounds interesting but also a bit scattered.

Let's have a look on the opening triple. "It Happens All the Time" is an AC/DC-based classic rocker with a pretty strong rhythm section. The riffing is kept rather simple, but the beat gives the tune the groove. L.A. Guns delivered the blueprint for "You're so Vicious", the number that comes next. And last but not least it's Guns'n'Roses that inspired the guys to write "Shy Love".

There is nothing wrong with these songs. It's just that they can't reach the level of the originals.

Sometimes things also sound a bit unfinished. Let's take "Don't Lie to Me" as one example. This half ballad actually contains some good ideas, but in the end the flow is missing. I had the feeling that there are different fragments that have been put together, without adding to the bigger picture. Besides that, it's singer Eli Reskov who gets to his limits with this number. As good as his piano play comes across, as big is the potential when it comes to the vocals.

But anyhow, since the guys are from Australia, they have a kind of exotic bonus and while listening to the album you can feel that they love what they're doing, probably the most important thing.





  1. It Happens All the Time
  2. You're so Vicious
  3. Shy Love
  4. One on One
  5. Don't Lie to Me
  6. Tears you Cry
  7. Good to See You Again
  8. I Wanna Change the World
  9. Don't Feel Like Home


Label: Independent

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date: April 1st, 2016


CD review DEVINE ELECTRIC "Devine Electric"