Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review WRONG "Wrong"

Veröffentlicht am 30. April 2016 von Markus W. in Wrong, Helmet, Unsane, Hardcore, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review, Noise

(8/10) There is definitely nothing wrong with Wrong. Not at all. I must say that I was really impressed after I had my first round through the band's debut album. The label info mentioned that the guys sound like a mixture of the early Helmet and Unsane. Wow, I thought. This is very promising since I'm especially a fan of Helmet's early work, "Meantime", "Betty" and "Aftertaste". And the label info was right. It is more than once that the razor blade sharp riffs from Helmet found also some spots in Wrong's sound. But with all similarties, Wrong plays a bit more 'dirty' compared to Page Hamilton and his gang, which gives them an own identity.

But who are Wrong? The guys are from Miami, Florida and consist out of Eric Hernandez (g/v), Brian Hernandez (d), Andres Ascanio (b) and Ryan Haft (g). This quartet formed the band back in 2014 and the guys found a home at Relapse Records who is also publishing this debut.

Eventhough Wrong is new, the guys could gain already some experience in the past. Eric Hernandez e.g. was playing drums for Torche/Kylesa/COC, something that influenced also Wrong's sound.

The noise rock of the this Miami outfit just makes fun. Wrong unleashes the musical bludgeon that includes killer riffs and a strong groove. Things never get soft and easy. The fourpiece creates good sounding noise that can lead to severe neck problems due to intensive headbanging.

What I like with the band is the combination of hardcore trademarks with metal elements, both put together in a way that there is structured chaos in the end, something that includes a high recognistion value.

Perk up one's ears in case you are a fan of Helmet and Kylesa. These guys did a great job and I hope to have a chance seeing them live in the near future.





  1. More Like
  2. Turn in
  3. Read
  4. Entourage
  5. Hum Drum
  6. Stasis
  7. Mucilage
  8. Fake Brain
  9. Boil
  10. Wrong
  11. High Chair


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Noise Rock

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2016

CD review WRONG "Wrong"