Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MASSIVE "Destination Somewhere"

Veröffentlicht am 22. April 2016 von Markus W. in Massive, News, CD Review, Hardrock, Rock, Sleaze Rock, Punkrock

(8/10) Actually it's quite impressive what Massive delivers on their new album "Destination Somewhere". The guys from Australia scored already with their debut "Full Throttle", an album that was very well received by fans and media.

Now it's time for the quartett to put more wood the metal fire, something they do with each of the ten songs on "Destination Somewhere".

The new longplayer shows band at it's best. It is this kick-ass mentality that feed the rock'n'roll fire. And the way they do it is a smart one too. In the end it's dirty street hardrock they are playing. But instead of just sticking to one pattern they vary their sound. Songs like "Bloody Money Blues" have a mean punk expression, "Sinking Ship" comes with a bad boy ZZ Top riff and that the guys have listened to Slash becomes obvious while listening to the guitar lines on "One For the Road" and "Made of Stone". The latter is the more silent track, at least compared to the other rockers.

And if this wasn't enough Massive has with "Up in Smoke" a fast and dirty hardrocker in their portfolio, a song that, while being performed live, probably turns every venue into a madhouse. Actually it doesn't matter which song you choose. They are all a treat for your ears. True energizers in days when you're down and true grooving monsters in case yo're looking for a soundtrack for your next party.

"Full Throttle" didn't restrain the bands power. Actually the opposite is the case. It spurred the guys to even better songs on "Destination Somewhere" which was a pleasure for each fan of rock music.





  1. One For the Road
  2. Bloody Money Blues
  3. Sinking Ship
  4. The Fall
  5. Made of Stone
  6. Destination Somewhere
  7. Up In Smoke
  8. Circus
  9. The Way it's Always Been
  10. Beaten Dog


Label: Earache

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: April 22nd, 2016

CD review MASSIVE "Destination Somewhere"