Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DISCHARGE "End of Days"

Veröffentlicht am 23. April 2016 von Markus W. in Discharge, Punkrock, Punk, Hardcore, News, CD Review

(8/10) If bands like Metallica, Anthrax, Machine Head and Sepultura cover song from a band, you understand about the importance and the influencial level such a band represents.

UK hardcore dinosaurs Discharge are one of these bands that had and have more than an impact on hard music. Those guys have been, by all the simplicity in their music, innovators in hardcore.

After almost one decade, 8 years to be precise, Discharge releases their highly anticipated new longplayer entitled "End of Days". The masters of D-beat recorded 15 new songs that are all massive and robust. Discharge obviously did what they do best, write songs that are spot on, brutal and exempt from every unnecessary ballast.

But there are also some news to tell. First of all the five-piece releases the album via a new label. Discharge inked a deal with Nuclear Blast and "End of Days" is the first release that comes out of this cooperation.

Secondly the band has a new singer, since Jeff 'JJ' Janiak replaced 'Rat' Martin in 2014, plus having with 'Tezz' Roberts a second guitarist ('Tezz' was a founding member of Discharge and played drums at that time).

"New World Order" is the opener and it's actually the only tune that's reaches the three minutes level, something that is almost an epical length when it comes to "End of Days". The start couldn't be much better than what you get to hear with this number. "New World Order" is a fast song with raging vocals and screaming guitars. Wohoo.

Another highlight on this album is called "Hatebomob". It's a punk rock blast that unleashes the entire frustration on a bit more than two minutes. Something that sticks out here is the chorus that includes JJ's aggressive shouts, a song that could become a live classic and it was not for nothing that the band has chosen this song for doing a video.

"End of Days" became a cool longplayer and if you like hardcore you need to have this album. These guys are legends and they prove that you don't have to be dead to become a legend. Discharge is more alive than ever.





  1. New World Order
  2. Raped and Pillaged
  3. End of Days
  4. The Broken Law
  5. False Flag Entertainment
  6. Meet Your Maker
  7. Hatebomb
  8. It Can't Happen Here
  9. Infected
  10. Killing Yourself to Lie
  11. Looking at Pictures of Genocide
  12. Hung Draw and Quartered
  13. Population Control
  14. The Terror Alert
  15. Accessories by Molotov (Part 2)


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Hardcore

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2016

CD review DISCHARGE "End of Days"