Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DESASTER "The Oath of an Iron Ritual"

Veröffentlicht am 17. April 2016 von Markus W. in Desaster, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, Black Metal, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Koblenz-based Desaster does on their new record what they can do best. The guys worked on another album that focusses on raw thrash metal with a spicing-up death metal component. The four-piece used their cookiecutter approach and this isn't meant in a negative way. The new album, which is already their eighth one, features ten (actually nine plus an intro) new songs that are reflecting exactly what you wanted to get from the band as being a fan of their music.

After a short and sinister intro it's "Proclamation in Shadows" that gives you the first kick. This tune is a rumpling metal beast that ambushes you and your ear canals. "End of Tyranny" brings back the best of early thrash metal while the seven minutes long "Haunting Siren" is a blackened midpace track that is spot-on. And even though it's a longer one, Desaster keeps the level of tension quite high throughout. "The Denial" belongs to the longer numbers too and it starts in slo-mo. I even thought that Desaster found some pleasure in playing doom. Maybe they did at least for a few minutes before the track transforms into a mean eardrum destroyer with several breaks.

The title track instead, compared to all these epical tracks, is hitting bulls eye. It's a not too fast one and it is reduced to its minimum, something that brings the intensity more to forefront.

All in all Desaster added another excellent record to their discography. "The Oath of an Ritual" has this scent of the underground, the band could keep alive for so many years. These songs aren't calculating and aren't dressed for success. Desaster plays the kind of music they want and by doing this they gain more and more appreciation by fans that go for true metal.





  1. Intro (The Oath)
  2. Procalmation in Shadows
  3. End of Tyranny
  4. The Cleric's Arcanum
  5. Haunting Siren
  6. Damnatio ad Bestias
  7. Conquer & Contaminate
  8. The Denial
  9. The Oath of an Iron Ritual
  10. At the Eclipse of Blades


Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: April 8th, 2016

CD review DESASTER "The Oath of an Iron Ritual"