Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review OBSIDIAN KINGDOM "A Year With No Summer"

Veröffentlicht am 14. März 2016 von Markus W. in Obsidian Kingdom, Pink Floyd, Mayhem, Rock, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review, Black Metal

(9/10) "A Year With No Summer", that sounds like the soundtrack for last years summer in Holland. But I don't think, that this was the inspiration for Obsidian Kingdom for wirting songs for their new album.

Barcelona, the homebase of the five-piece, is very popular for sun, summer and beach. But as you know, Obsidian Kingdom's sound isn't really inspired by climate and Catalan lifestyle.

"A Year With No Summer" is the bands second onslaught after having released their debut in 2012. The new longplayer adds another chapter to the bands discography, a chapter that is build on songs, inspired by blackened prog metal with a bigger postcore approach.

The quintet went through some development within the last four years. The new disc is again very experimental but the harsh black metal part got less. The release is less extreme and has more cross references to bands such as Pink Floyd and Marillion, painted in a darker shade of grey - like a year with no summer.

The most blackened song is the ten minutes long "The Kadinsky Group" and it's not surprising that Attila Csinar is adding some guest voclas for this epical tune. It's a hybrid of avangarde parts like the creepy beginning including some oppressive sound constructs, moaning elements in the middle part where the vibe constantly changes between hope and despair, before everything turns into an almost apocalyptic sound collage towards the end. "The Kadinsky Group" is the monumental centerpiece of this outstanding album.

"Black Swan", a silent prog song, almost feels like a counterpart to the before mentioned intensive journey. This track transports a rather positive atmosphere, build on beautiful soundscapes and melodic vocal lines. Tunes like "Black Swan" reflect prog masters like Pink Floyd and songs like this can almost compete with Steven Wilson too.

And last but not least, if you don't give up, "Away Absent", the closer, also offers a hidden track that starts after round about nine minutes and is acoustic session that finally rounds off an emotional journey through the highs and mostly depth od human exisitence. "A Year With no Summer" is a milestone that you should call your own.






1. A Year With No Summer
2. 10th April
3. Darkness
4. The Kandinsky Group
5. The Polyarnik
6. Black Swan
7. Away / Absent


Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Experimental Rock

Release Date EU: March 11th, 2016

CD review OBSIDIAN KINGDOM "A Year With No Summer"