Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review AMORAL "In Sequence"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in Amoral, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Amoral comes from Finland and the band has already six records they released over the last twelve years. The guys from Helsinki started Amoral in 1997, followed by the debut "Wound Creations" in 2004.

"In Sequence" is Amoral's seventh studio album, featuring eight prog metal tunes. The sextet, the original singer Niko Kalliojärvi is back, approached this release with an 'more is more' attitude. With having Kalliojärvi back in the line-up, the band can built on two vocalists and three guitars players. Just considering this should lead to a dense sound on "In Sequence".

But this wasn't enough for the Finns. Next to six band members, Amoral also invited several guests musicians to contribute to "In Sequence".

The title track is actually a prologue. It's a silent prog rocker that is build on a keyboard-based sound pattern. This is the red thread throughout the song that gains heaviness towards the end.

The rest of the album is journey through moderate prog metal tracks like "From the Beginning (The Note Part 2)", via heavy riff rockers ("Defuse the Past") to soulful ballads (Sonds of Home"), all with a certain Finnish melancholic vibe attached.

Amoral's newest disc features tight prog metal that is well done, emotional and approachable. And Amoral isn't affraid of powerful riffs. All good.





  1. In Sequence (A Prologue)
  2. Rude Awakening
  3. The Betrayal
  4. Sounds of Home
  5. The Next One to Go
  6. Helping Hands
  7. Defuse the Past
  8. From the Beginning (The Note Part 2)


Label: G-Records

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: February 5th, 2016

CD review AMORAL "In Sequence"