Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE MUTE GODS "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me"

Veröffentlicht am 4. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in The Mute Gods, Prog Rock, Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) The Mute Gods are new to me. I haven't heard of the guys before, considering the founding date of 2014 also not a too big surprise. So I was very curiously looking forward to listen to their debut "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me". I have to admit that what I heard was very convincing.

So, who are these guys that found together under the banner of The Mute Gods? It was Nick Beggs that approached Roger King about a collaboration. This happened in 2014 and the two guys added Marco Minnemann to the line-up, since Beggs knew him from his time with Steven Wilson.

This trio recorded with "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me", a studio longplayer that contains nine songs and two bonus tracks.

It's the title track that was chosen to be the first number on this studio release. It's, with almost eight minutes, the longest one on the album. The Mute Gods are, in my opinion, Rush fans. It happened more than once that I was reminded to the Canadian prog rock legends and listening to the opener was one of those moments.

Next to Rush there are influences of another prog dinosaur too. Yes could have been the inspiration for the second tune "Praying to a Mute God".

"Nightschool for Idiots" is, next to a funny title, also a more silent tune. It has a big melody and an easy flow. This is catchy rock music that is far away from hard rock'n'roll guitars, but it has a really beautiful expression.

Things shouldn't get too melodic, that's what the band wants to tell us with "Feed the Troll". Not that they unleash the wild guitars, but the tune is harder and comes with interesting samples and keyboards sounds. The composition feels like the soundtrack for a space odyssee.

Talking about the harder stuff, I also need to mention "In the Crosshairs" which is a rather complex song with a partly oriental expression. Again, we aren't talking about Dream Theater-like prog metal, but in the context of the other tunes on this longplayer it's one of the heavier and groovier ones. And it's an instrumental that belongs with three minutes to the shorter recordings on this album.

Another seven minutes hymn is called "Swimming Horses". It's one of the best tracks on "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me". Again, it's a mix of Rush and Yes that both could have delivered the blueprint for this beautiful songs. Emotional depth and combined with a ceratin ease is creating athrilling experience which you should have heard.

The Mute Gods have created a well done prog rock album that comes with big soundscapes and a certain ease. It contains songs that are demanding by being catchy too. The Mute Gods managed to translate complexity into a listening experience that will attract more people than just musicians. "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me" is an album that's worth to listen to.





  1. Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me
  2. Praying To a Mute God
  3. Nightschool For Idiots
  4. Feed The Troll
  5. Your Dark Ideas
  6. Last Man on Earth (Bonus Track)
  7. In The Crosshairs
  8. Strange Relationship
  9. Swimming Horses
  10. Mavro Capelo (Bonus Track)
  11. Father Daughter


Label: InsideOut Music

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: January 22nd, 2016

CD review THE MUTE GODS "Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me"