Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review RIPPER "Experiment of Existence"

Veröffentlicht am 28. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in Ripper, CD Review, News, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, Kreator, Possessed, Slayer

(8/10) In case you're looking for thrash metal that's inspired by the early Kreator, during their "Pleasure to Kill" phase and Possessed, here you go. "Experiment of Existence" delivers exactly this sound, thrash metal which is raw and uncompromising.

The opener "Magnetic Solar Storms" is the first statement on this new longplayer from the Chile-based thrashers. This tune is the beginning of an leven songs lasting riff inferno. The eighties are close.

Ripper manages to build in small details into their sound that makes things quite interesting. Even though "Anthropophagic Life" is an acoustic wrecking ball the tune includes some cool basslines which are well integrated.

The starting triplet gets completed by the title track, a tune that starts with a small intro before hell breaks.

What is surprisingly positive is the instrumental "Anatomy of the Galaxies". An non-vocal thrash song can become boring easily, but the band adds some unexpected and more complex twists - not in general, but in some details.

I mentioned already some basslines. This is brought even further to the extreme since the album features with "Chromatic Fantasy" a bass solo which you don't hear that often. This is, in my opinion a good idea since it breaks the pattern of one riff thunderstorm following the other.

The good thing with Ripper's newest strike is the merciless energy that is transfered by those eleven songs.

This longplayer gives oldschool thrash metal a new appeal, supported by a pretty good sound. The production might be a bit hazily, but thrash metal can handle this and I don't see it as a downer for this release.

Thrash metal fans listen, this is something you should have heard.





  1. Magnetic Solar Storm
  2. Anthropophagic Life
  3. Experiment of Existance
  4. Anatomy of the Galaxies
  5. Stellar Evolution
  6. The Alpha Orions
  7. Rotten Dreams
  8. Chromatic Fantasy (bass solo)
  9. Neuronal Unity
  10. Spherical Energy
  11. Humanity Was Wrong


Label: Unspeakable Axe Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: March 4th, 2016

CD review RIPPER "Experiment of Existence"