Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review OMNIUM GATHERUM "Grey Heavens"

Veröffentlicht am 26. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in Omnium Gatherum, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Even though you might not have heard from Omnium Gatherum earlier I can tell you that the guys from Finland are in buisness already since 1996. This means that the sextet will celebrate their 20st anniversary this year and what would be a better thing to do than celebrating this milestone with a new album.

The new disc is called "Grey Heavens" and I can report that it is a really good one. It's already the band's seventh longplayer and I think it is their best one too.

Omnium Gatherum is into melodic death metal and even in the playing field for new suprises isn't that big anymore in this genre, "Grey Heavens" still comes with a 'wow' factor that is maybe missing with some other releases.

The unique trademarks of the Finnish sextet is the combination of different shades of death metal that makes "Grey Heavens" standing out from the rest. If you take the harsh vocals from Amon Amarth, combine them with the melancholy of Amorphis and add some guitar/keyboard interactions a la Dark Age, then you get close to the sound you can expect from Omnium Gatherum's newest goody.

To understand the entire spectra of Omnium Gatherum's new album you should check-out "Foundation" with its bitter sweet melodies, raw vocals, melodic riffs and harmonic keyboards. This track is one of those that comes closest to Dark Age.

The Amorphis cross links are coming back in songs like "Ophidian Sunrise" and last but not least there is an instrumental which is actually the title track. "These Grey Heavens" is a more silent and very melodic track, a song that couldn't paint the picture of grey heavens much better.

To sum up: This album leaves a mark. On the band's Facebook side it's mentioned that the guys play "Adult Oriented Death Metal". No idea what that means, but I can tell you that those ten songs are containing passionate and mature metal that should be on the shopping list of everybody that is into Scandinavian death metal.





  1. The Pit
  2. Skyline
  3. Frontiers
  4. Majesty and Silence
  5. Rejunvenate!
  6. Foundation
  7. The Great Liberation
  8. Ophidian Sunrise
  9. These Gret Heavens
  10. Strom Front


Label: Lifeforce Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2016

CD review OMNIUM GATHERUM "Grey Heavens"