Overblog Folge diesem Blog
Edit post Administration Create my blog

(8/10) Gothenburg's Bombus positively surprised me with their uncompromissing last album called "The Poets and the Parrot". It was this creative ignorance of styles that was impressive. Bombus was and isn't made for stereotype thinking. Those guys merge a lot of influences and end up in a potpourri that is settled somewhere between heavy metal, hardrock and punk. Anyhow, the result sound great and listening to Bombus songs makes a lot of fun. These guys entertain.

Also the thrid album of the Gothenburg-based command doesn't change anything in this perception. "Repeat Until Death" picks it up where the guys ended with the last album.

The opener "Eyes on the Price" represents almost the entire spectrum of Bombus in one track. The tune starts, with a fully released handbreak, fast and furious. But then, in the last third, you meet a guitar solo that is far more classic metal than the rest of this track - and it still fit together.

"Deadweight" instead is a riff rocker kept in medium pace while "I Call You Over" represents the sentimental side of Bombus, at least partly. The number starts silent and melodic, almost melancolic. That this doesn't last for too long is crystal clear. The tune gets heavy in the chorus before falling back into the bitter sweet verse. Towards the end the song gets harder and harder. Bombus can't play only silent.

I mentioned earlier also the hardrock roots of Bombus. The title track is one of the numbers where these influences shimmer through the most. However, also "Repeat Until Dead" is embedded in a might guitar framework that is very much Bombus.

The only downer is the fact that the album could have been longer. One to two more songs would have been great. 34 minutes is actually more a kind of EP than a full-length album. For the rest, good stuff.





  1. Eyes on the Price
  2. Rust
  3. Deadweight
  4. Horde of Flies
  5. I Call You Over (Hairy Teeth, Pt.II)
  6. Repeat Until Death
  7. Shake Them For What They're Worth
  8. You the Man
  9. Get our Cuts


Label: Century Media

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2016

CD review BOMBUS "Repeat Until Death"
Tag(s) : #Bombus, #Heavy Metal, #Punkrock, #Hardrock, #News, #CD Review, #Thrash Metal, #Alternative Metal

Diesen Post teilen

Repost 0
Um über die neuesten Artikel informiert zu werden, abonnieren: