Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ANVIL "Anvil is Anvil"

Veröffentlicht am 29. Februar 2016 von Markus W. in Anvil, Heavy Metal, Speed Metal, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Introducing Anvil would be like carrying sand to the beach. If you haven't heard of Anvil before you either navigated to the wrong blog or you're really young or you missed the legendary documentary "Anvil! The Story of Anvil" ... or all together.

After having had a quite exciting past with some ups and a lot of downers, Toronto-based Anvil is looking forward into a bit more positive future right now. "Hope in Hell", the predecessor, was already pretty good and the new album fits seamless as being a continuation of a re-vitalized Anvil.

Steve 'Lips' Kudlow, Robb Reiner and Chris Robertson hammers eleven new metal highlights right into your ears. The starting triple is already belonging to the jaw-dropping songs on the longplayer. "Daggers and Rum" marks an interesting beginning. Anvil unveils their pirate passion with this number that has a bit of the old Running Wild. It's a cool and unexpected way to open an Anvil album. 

What follows next is "Up, Down, Sideways" which is one of these song that have this unique Anvil sound. It's a faster upbeat track, it's a real headbanger. "Gun Conrtol" instead is kept slower and comes with an irresistable riff and the almost hypnotic chorus of this number makes the track even better. This beat is like a hammer hitting the anvil.

A tune that comes with a similar pattern is the slow rolling "Zombie Apocalypse" and with "Ambushed" Anvil has a real live hymn on the record.

Towards the end things get faster again. "Run Like Hell" is introducing a finale furioso before the mighty "Forgive Don't Forget" closes an exciting and entertaining dic. "Anvil is Anvil" - this is more than the title of an Anvil album. This is a statement that gets even more manifested by this longplayer.

Anvil are a band that first of all has excellent songs up their sleeves, something that goes for the new tracks as wel as, of course, for the old classics too. Next to the music Anvil is the best example for dedication, passion and never give up - something that's underground, real, authentic and metal. You guys rock.





  1. Daggers and Rum
  2. Up, Down, Sideways
  3. Gun Control
  4. Die For a Lie
  5. Runaway Train
  6. Zombie Apocalypse
  7. It' Your Move
  8. Ambushed
  9. Fire on the Highway
  10. Run Like Hell
  11. Forgive Don't Forget


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 26th, 2016

CD review ANVIL "Anvil is Anvil"