Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PRIMAL FEAR "Rulebreaker"

Veröffentlicht am 11. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in Primal Fear, News, CD Review, Hardrock, Power Metal, Heavy Metal, NWoBHM, Mat Sinner, Alex Beyroth

(9/10) Whatever Alex Beyroth and Mat Sinner, not to forget Ralf Scheepers, touches seems to become gold...ähm... metal. Regardless if it's Voodoo Circle or, as in this case Primal Fear, the result really rocks.

After having enjoyed the latest Voodoo Circle classic rock on "Whiskey Fingers" a few weeks ago, 2016 starts with the next release of this highly creative team. Primal Fear releases "Rulebreaker" in the coming days, the next chapter in the band's success story.

Primal Fear is a band not built on sand. The guys are around already since almost 20 years and can look back on a long discography, in which "Rulebreaker" perfectly fits. The five-piece is one of the big players in European metal - no doubt.

Eleven new metal tracks are a treat for each 'metal ear'. I think that a song title like "In Metal We Trust" says it all. The highspeed track is a real headbanger that you should have heard, something that basically goes for each of the tunes. It starts with the heavy riff rocker "Angels of Mercy" and it ends with the mighty pounder  "Raving Mad" - all well crafted metal tracks that still remind a bit to the good old Judas Priest but have by far enough own trademarks, so that they can immediately be recognised as Primal Fear headbanging food.

This time also a power ballad became a part of the tracklist. "The Sky is Burning" shows the soulful side of Scheepers & Co. that partly comes back in the epical "We Walk Without Fear" too. This eleven minutes long power pack merges the heavy guitar riffs, intense vocals and a symphonic vibe to a metallic masterpiece that reflects all the facets of Primal Fear's sound.

Also when it comes to the sound of "Rulebreaker", there is all good. Mat Sinner as producer and Jacob Hansen as engineer gave the album the right punch and energy which makes the album hard and heavy. The sound supports the songs to shine even more.

All in all there is only one thing that is better than a new Primal Fear album. It's seeing the band live and since they will be on tour during early spring there are enough opportunities. In Metal We Trust!





  1. Angels of Mercy
  2. The End is Near
  3. Bullets & Tears
  4. Rulebreaker
  5. In Metal We Trust
  6. We Walk Without Fear
  7. At War With the World
  8. The Dwevil in Me
  9. Constant Heart
  10. The Sky is Burning
  11. Raving Mad


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 22nd, 2016

CD review PRIMAL FEAR "Rulebreaker"