Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review IGNITE "A War Against You"

Veröffentlicht am 1. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in Ignite, Hardcore, Melodic Hardore, Heavy Metal, News, Alternative Metal, Punkrock, CD Review, Punk

(8/10) 10 years after having released their latest album "Our Darkest Days" California-based hardcore gang Ignite comes back with a brand new longplayer. "A War Against You" features thirteen melodic hardcore tracks as we know them from the band.

I personally lost a bit sight on Ignite over all those years. So much the better that the quintet is back. 

Even though it took a decade till we can hold a new record in our hands, the five guys haven't been lazy. Several side projects kept them busy and the Pennywise contribution of singer Zoli Tegals was probaby the most spotlighted one. 

The first footsteps for "A War Against You" have been set in 2014 when the guys found themselves reenergized and loaded with passion for working on a new longplayer. Together with Motörhead producer Cameron Webb Ignite entered the studio and came back with thirteen recorded songs that made it all on "A War Against You".

Ignite is still Ignite. What I want to say is, that their sound isn't that much different from 10 years ago. The roots and trademarks are still the same, but the five-piece sounds more modern and fresh on the new album. I think that one of the main reasons for this is the fact of working with other bands over the last years. This work provided them with some extra inspiration which found its way into the new tunes. All in all I would say that Ignite got a bit more melodic than they have been in 2006. 

But next to the music it is the message that's importnat of Ignite. "A War Against You" covers personal experiences like in "Nothing Can Stop Me", which is about a friend of the band fighting against cancer. But also the political and social perspective gets a lot of attention on the new album. Current topics like war and refugees are getting a lot of space on "A War Against You". Ignite combines powerful and melodic hardcore with a message. That's what I like with the band since the 90's and it's good to have them back.

"A War Against You" is a first highlight in 2016 that hopefully will deliver some more. 





  1. Begin Again
  2. Nothing Can Stop Me
  3. This is a War
  4. Oh No Not Again
  5. Alive
  6. You Saved Me
  7. Rise Up
  8. Where I'm From
  9. The Suffering
  10. How is This Progress?
  11. You Lie
  12. Descend
  13. Work


Label: Century Media

Genre: Melodic Hardcore

Release Date EU: January 8th, 2016

CD review IGNITE "A War Against You"
CD review IGNITE "A War Against You"