Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DIAVOLOS "You Lived, Now Die"

Veröffentlicht am 3. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in Diavolos, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, NWoBHM, News, CD Review, Possessed, Slayer, Dark Angel

(7/10) Diavolos is a new band even though the band member do have a history in metal. Some of the guys play(ed) already in bands like Satan's Wrath, Impaled Nazarene, Sentenced and Electric Wizard.

The guys are now sailing under the flag of Diavolos, a new band that released with "You Lived, Now Die" their debut a few days ago. What you get served with this longplayer is old school thrash-/death metal that finds its roots back in the early days of Slayer. But also Possessed and Dark Angel have been a source of inspiration for this debut.

"You Lived, Now Die" is raw and anarchic. It's a hybrid of metal and punk that comes together on this longplayer which blows you away.

The songs on this record are an aural assault that spreads a pure underground vibe. The sound of the album is quite good and never overproduced. This adds to the authentic impression a lot and makes the record to a really interesting one.

Diavolos songs are sometimes keep more mid pace, like the pounding "Hail All Evil", which is a real headbanger. However, most of the tunes are high speed ones without any compromise. The title track is one of those diabolic hymns as well as "Demonwhore". Those are galloping harsh tracks with raging guitars and a merciless beat. And it's the rough vocals of Tas Danazoglou that add to the positive impression of this longplayer too.

Next to death influences you can also find back some NWoBHM inspired parts on this debut. The solos on "Curse, Bleed, Die" are one example where Iron Maiden could have delivered the blueprint.

To sum up: A cool, raw and merciless debut from Finland/Greece. Diavolos delivered smoe good headbanging stuff.





  1. Diavolos Rising
  2. Come to Salem
  3. Hail All Evil
  4. Piss in Holy Water
  5. You Lived, Now Die
  6. Baptized
  7. Demonwhore
  8. Curse, Bleed, Die
  9. Totencorpse
  10. Death Metal


Label: Hells Headbangers

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: December 11th, 2015

CD review DIAVOLOS "You Lived, Now Die"