Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review CASUALTIES OF COOL "Casualties of Cool"

Veröffentlicht am 13. Januar 2016 von Markus W. in Casualties Of Cool, Devin Townsend, Rock, Folk, News, CD Review, DVD review, Stabbing Young Lad, Ché Aimee Dorval

(9/10) Devin Townsend is a real allrounder. It's his passion for music and art that drives him. Rgeardless if it has been the releases of Stabbing Young Lad, the Devin Townsend Project or, as now, Casualties Of Cool, this man has a great sense for music and an almost endless creativity.

While the Devin Townsend Project is the outlet for heavy stuff, this release shows the soft and soulful side of the Canadian guitar maniac.

Townsend teamed up with Ché Almee Dorval, a Canadian folk singer from Vancouver. Dorval had already a guest appearance on the "Ki" album and Townsend reached out to her again with the idea of Casualties Of Cool. The genius guitarist had the concept of writing a soft folk album with a dark vibe. The story on the album is about a man that is lost in space. He was drawn to a distant planet by a beautiful woman's voice and Dorval was the perfect match.

Next to the Canadian singer Townsend also worked together on the album with some more musicians. Morgan Ågren, Jørgen Munkeby, Kat Epple and the Swedish Sångkraft choir (on "Bridge"), they all have been part of the band's first album.

Actually the work "Casualties of Cool" started already in 2014. The album was funded by a crowd sourcing activity through Pledgemusic and the band reached 500% of the set goal. "Casualties of Cool" is an album that is build on freedom without any contractual constrains. It is purely based on Townsend endless creative flow and the wish of doing something authentic, but different.

Now, in 2016, it's Inside Out Music, that is releasing this special and unconventional longplayer, enriched by an one and a half hours long live recording that comes on DVD. It was the show at the Union Chapel in London that was recorded and filmed. The impressive location was a fantastic scenery for this kind of music. This time it's not the flashing lights and the spotlights that are all over the place. The stage is dimly lit which creates, together with the music, a calm and soulful atmosphere. I can imagine it was a great moment joining one of those rare concerts.

Devin Townsend stand for musical freedom, creativity and passion for what he is doing. Casualties Of Cool is one outlet for all his ideas and it is another great one too. If you're openminded and willing to dive into this album, you will be rewarded by excellent music and soundscapes that I haven't heard for a long time.






  1. Daddy
  2. Mountaintop
  3. Flight
  4. The Code
  5. Moon
  6. Pier (instrumental)
  7. Ether
  8. Hejda
  9. Forgive Me
  10. Broken
  11. Bones
  12. Deathscope
  13. The Field
  14. The Bridge
  15. Pure (Instrumental)


  1. Daddy
  2. The Code
  3. Mountaintop
  4. Flight
  5. Ether
  6. Moon/Pier
  7. Dones
  8. Forgive Me
  9. Jam
  10. The Field
  11. Deathscope
  12. Gone is Gone
  13. The Bridge
  14. Interview
  15. Mountaintop (videoclip)
  16. Flight (videoclip)


Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Folk Rock

Release Date EU: January 15th, 2016

CD review CASUALTIES OF COOL "Casualties of Cool"