Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review LION SHEPHERD "Hiraeth"

Veröffentlicht am 14. Dezember 2015 von Markus W. in Lion Shepherd, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Since Riverside it isn't a secret anymore that well crafted prog rock is played in Poland. The support of Riverside on their current tour is another Polish band called Lion Shepherd.

The group is the brainchild of Kamil Haidar and Mateusz Owczarek, musicians with some credits when it comes to the Polish music scene.

The duo completed Lion Shepard by adding Matteo Bassoli on bass and Piotr Podgorski on drums. This quartet recorded "Hiraeth" - a prog album with many influences and aspects.

Lion Shephard plays prog rock the more silent way. The longplayer contains tunes with some harder sections ("Brave New World"), but in the end it's the quite parts are dominating the scene.

The vibe of the ten songs is a melancholic one, as a base. But the album also has a lot of peaceful moments that gives you a mental rest in these fast moving time.

Besides rock and prog the duo also includes elements in their music that I would describe as worldmusic influenced. Sometimes, like in the opener "Fly on", you meet some middle east sounds while some other tunes come more with african influences ("Smell of War").

Another number I want to mention is the touching "Wanderer", that is an acoustic which opens an musical dreamscapes for the listener.

"Hiraerth" is an exciting prog rock release that has really cool melodies combined with emotional depth. Thumbs up.





  1. Fly On
  2. Lights Out
  3. Brave New World
  4. Music Box Ballerina
  5. I'm Open
  6. Past in Mirror
  7. Wanderer
  8. Infidel Act of Love
  9. Smell of War
  10. Strongest Breed


Label: Glassville Records

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: November 20st, 2015

CD review LION SHEPHERD "Hiraeth"