Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review JESS AND THE ANCIENT ONES "Second Psychedelic Coming - The Aquarius Tapes"

Veröffentlicht am 30. Dezember 2015 von Markus W. in Jess And The Ancient Ones, Occult Rock, Classic Rock, Retro Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Jess And The Ancient Ones is a rather new band from Finland. It was in 2010 in Kuopio when the band was founded. In 2012 they guys released their self-titles debut followed by an EP in 2013.

Two years later the Finnish band, that is the psychedelic rock outlet of some Deathchain musicians, is ready with their second longplayer.

The heart of this longplayer is the finale furioso called "Goodbye to Virgin Grounds Forever". A melancholic piano introduces this anthem. It's a flute that joins in and you can see the grey winter forests of Kuopio passing by while listening to this first part. Gloom builds up the moment Jess starts singing and the opus becomes a bitter sweet masterpiece of psychedelic rock music. Jess And The Acient Ones can keep the tension throughout the entire song, something that demands a higher level of musical craftsmanship and a lot of creativity. This tune is jaw-dropping good.

Having recorded such an anthem doesn't make it easier for the rest of the songs to shine. But Jess and her gang managed this challenge very well and all the other eight tracks on the "Second Psychedelic Coming..." aren't less exciting than the closer. 

"Samhain" is a grooving retro rocker, followed by the oppressive "The Flying Man", enriched by a Ian Andresson-like cross flute.

"The Equinox Death Trip" is belongs to the credit column too. The pumping bassline, that starts the song, builds the base on which the classic rock tune can shine.

All in all I have to admit that I was surprised by the high quality of songs on Jess And The Ancient Ones' second strike. I can entrust this album to each retro- and psychedelic rock fan. If you haven't heard the album yet you have to check it out. Finnland's getting hot.





  1. Samhain
  2. The Flying Man
  3. In Levitating Secret Dreams
  4. The Equinox Death Trip
  5. Wolves Inside My Head
  6. Crossroad Lightning
  7. The Lovers
  8. Goetia of Love
  9. Goodbye to Virgin Grounds Forever


Label: Svart Records

Genre: Occult Metal

Release Date EU: December 11th, 2015

Photo: Jarkko Pietarinen
Photo: Jarkko Pietarinen

Photo: Jarkko Pietarinen