Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review HAREM SCAREM "Live at the Phoenix"

Veröffentlicht am 11. Dezember 2015 von Markus W. in Harem Scarem, Harry Hess, Hardrock, Rock, Classic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) The beginning of this album is great for two reasons. First of all I think it's great if a band is introduced by an announcer and second of all this guy does an excellent job. It saves me quite some lines in this review since I think that I couldn't describe Harem Scarem much better than this dude.

Harry Hess and mates played a show in Toronto, Ontario earlier this year before heading to Japan. The gig at the Phoenix was a real home match for the four-piece that used the opportinity to perform an excellent show which covered the most important steps in Harem Scarem's career. 

The focus during this show was on the bands second album "Mood Swings". Knowing the record, it's not a big surprise that seven tracks came from this disc. Even though Harem Scarem had many high-level releases "Mood Swings" is still the one with highest density of hits.

Next to those highlights from the early days also some songs from the 'comeback' album "Thirteen" have been played. Having those tunes next to each other without recognising any quality differences shows the high level of performance of Harry Hess and friends. It is great that the guys are back after a sort of hibernation, or should I say hiatus?

So what. Harem Scarem rocks again and this is the good news. "Live at the Phoenix" proves that they four-piece also makes a dent on stage. Harem Scraem rocks - on CD, vinyl and stage.

For whatever reason two song from the show didn't make it on the album. "If There was a Time" and "Karma Cleansing" have been played but aren't on the release. Anyhow, the twenty hardrockers provides you with a lot of excellent music. Good time rock'n'roll on a high level.

This album makes me want to see the guys live again in Europe and I hope that it doesn't take too long to see them on a Dutch stage.





CD 1:

  1. Garden of Eden
  2. Hard to Love
  3. Saviors Never Cry
  4. Dagger
  5. Distant Memory
  6. The Midnight Hours
  7. Mandy
  8. Killing Me
  9. Slowly Slipping Away
  10. Troubled Times

CD 2:

  1. Sentimental Blvd.
  2. Turn Around
  3. Stranger Than Love
  4. All I Need
  5. Saints and Sinners
  6. So Blind
  7. Human Nature
  8. Voice of Reason
  9. Change Comes Around
  10. No Justice


Label: Frontiers Records

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: December 4th, 2015

CD review HAREM SCAREM "Live at the Phoenix"