Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ENTWINE "Chaotic Nation"

Veröffentlicht am 25. Dezember 2015 von Markus W. in Entwine, Dark Metal, Dark Rock, Gothic, News, HardCD

(8/10) Entwine is a basic compontent when it comes to Finnish dark metal. Before the guys decided for a break in 2012, they celebrated quite some successes; in their home country but also in the rest of Europe. Six records show the creative productivity of the band from Lahti before they went into a two years lasting 'winter sleep'.

End of 2014 first signs of awakening could be registered, since the guys talked about recording their seventh longplayer. A few months later, beginning of October, the creative result found its way to the record dealers.

"Chaotic Nation" is the title of this new release that features ten new songs. I lost track of the band in the last years. The more I was impressed by their latest album. Entwine's new songs are a cool mix that brings together 80's melodic metal with dark rock vibes and some metallic outbursts - all embedded in catchy melodies. All this makes the album easy to approach but also divers and exciting.

The first single was called "Plastic World" and I think it was a very well done choice. In one or another way the song represents everything you can find back on "Chaotic Nation". But also the rocking opener "End of Silenece" and the melodic "Scream" are highlights that you should have heard.

Entwine don't have to dodge behind bands like HIM. Not at all. I got the idea that the break adrenalized the band that nowadays sounds modern, fresh and groovy. Well done.





  1. End Of Silence
  2. Saint of Sorrow
  3. Fortune Falls
  4. Plastic World
  5. As We Arise
  6. Lost, But Still Alive
  7. Adrenalize
  8. The Evil Lives in the Shadows
  9. Revolt For Redemption
  10. Scream



Label: Spinefarm Records

Genre: Dark Metal

Release Date EU: October 2nd, 2015

CD review ENTWINE "Chaotic Nation"