Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review THE MÆNSION "Ævolution"

Veröffentlicht am 17. November 2015 von Markus W. in The Mænsion, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Alternative Rock, New, CD Review, Rock

(7/10) The Mænsion describes their music as FutuRock. If we will hear more of the band in the future is something time will tell. Therefor let's stay focussed for the moment on the here and now.

The facts are that Mænsion have their starting moment back in 2008, but things became more tangible around 2013 when mainman Mark Mænsion moved to California. While producing other acts Mark also started to write the tunes that are now published on "Ævolution".

I would describe the bands sound as alternative rock, that also comes with some prog influences. The first single called "Chrysalis" is one of the numbers that reflects all this best. It brings back Tool to my memories while the end is more modern metal. The fact that Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst has a guest appearance on this tune emphasises the closeness to this genre.

The more silent moments are e.g. "Fetus' Thoughts". The song starts quite and fragile. Towards the end it builds up a bit but doesn't twist into a real outburst. It's more the electronically supported soundscapes that are in the forefront.

The Mænsion serves a melange of the mentioned genres; something that leads to nice songs that are produced very well. The album isn't rocket science but it's a solid piece of modern rock music. 





  1. Silence
  2. Freak
  3. Absolution
  4. Chrysalis (feat. Fred Durst)
  5. Fetus' Thoughts
  6. Retrospection
  7. Labyrinth
  8. Into the Dark
  9. The Riddle With No Answer


Label: Take Those Trip To The Mars Records

Genre: Alternative Metal/Rock

Release Date EU: October 2nd, 2015

CD review THE MÆNSION "Ævolution"