Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review TERAMAZE "Her Halo"

Veröffentlicht am 19. November 2015 von Markus W. in Teramaze, Prog Rock, Prog Metal, Rock, News, CD Review, Dream Theater

(8/10) Australia is known for blues-based hardrock. Bands like AC/DC and Airbourne are from Down Under and also some thrash bands are based in the land of the kangaroos. But prog metal?

I guess that the new record of Teramaze will change this. The band from Melbourne is the brainchild of lead guitarist and producer Dean Wells.

The debut was released already back in 1995 and was called "Doxology". Now it's time for their next undertaking. "Her Halo" is the name of the bands newest disc that offers you eight prog metal songs that are really good.

The entry point into "Her Halo" is the 12 minutes long "An Ordinary Dream (Enla Momento)" that has heavy riff-based parts with pure energy which go hand in hand with some spoken word moments and almost classical music section. The great thing is, that all those puzzle pieces fit together very well and create such an epical opener.

After having such a start into "Her Halo" the question came up to my mind, if Teramaze could keep this high standard throughout the rest of the record. And 'yes', they can. There is no single weak spot on this longplayer. Teramaze wrote and recorded excellent songs that brought more than once the earlier Dream Theater days to my mind. 

And it's not only the heavy stuff that is persuasive. Also the silent and more solemn "Broken" is a winner on this record.

Prog fans should check out this album - if you haven't done it yet anyhow.





  1. An Ordinary Dream (Enla Momento)
  2. To Love, a Tyrant
  3. Her Halo
  4. Out of Subconscious
  5. For the Innocent
  6. Trapeze
  7. Broken
  8. Delusion of Grandeur


Label: Mascot Label Group

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2015

CD review TERAMAZE "Her Halo"