Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SCORPIONS "Tokyo Tapes" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Veröffentlicht am 1. November 2015 von Markus W. in Scorpions, Heavy Metal, Hardrock, Classic Rock, CD Review, News, Rock

(*/10) "Tokyo Tapes" was the first live album of the Scorpions. The band still tried to find some solid ground in Europe while they have been already quite popular in the land of the rising sun.

The disc documents the two shows in Tokyo that the Scorpions performed in the Nakano Sun Plaza. It was also the last Scorpions release with Jon Uli Roth on guitar which gives the recording a special weight.

Surprising is the excellent quality of this live recording esp. when considering the year of 1979 when technical possibilities have been limited compared to modern times.

Also this iconic live album contains specialities. There are unreleased live versions of "Polar nights", "Hell Cat", "Catch the Train", He's a Woman - She's a Man" and "Robot Man" on the second CD as well as "Kimi Ga Yo", the national anthem of Japan performed by the guys from Hannover. What a special moment.

The regular longplayer was and is already one of the best live albums ever. But enriched by the additional songs this anniversary edition is a 'must' for each serious metal collection.





  1. All Night Long
  2. Pictured Life
  3. Backstage Queen
  4. Polar Nights
  5. In Trance
  6. We'll Burn the Sky
  7. Suspender Love
  8. In Search of the Peace of Mind
  9. Fly to the Rainbow
  10. He's a Woman - She's a Man
  11. Speedy's Coming
  12. Top of the Bill
  13. Hound Dog
  14. Long Tall Sally
  15. Steamrock Fever
  16. Dark Lady
  17. Köjö No Tsuki
  18. Robot Man
  19. Hell-Cat (27.04.1978)
  20. Catch Your Train (27.04.1978)
  21. Kimi Ga Yo (Japanese National Anthem 24.04.1978)
  22. Polar Nights (27.04.1978)
  23. He's a Woman - She's a Man (27.04.1978)
  24. Top of the Bill (27.04.1978)
  25. Robot Man  (27.04.1978)

Label: BMG/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 6th, 2015

CD review SCORPIONS "Tokyo Tapes" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
CD review SCORPIONS "Tokyo Tapes" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition