Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SCORPIONS "Taken by Force" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Veröffentlicht am 1. November 2015 von Markus W. in Scorpions, Heavy Metal, Classic Rock, News, CD Review, Power Metal, Hardrock, Rock

(*/10) To celebrate the 50th anniversary as a band is a special moment. Not that many rock groups can claim such a milestone for them. One of the bands that are belonging to this special category are German metal legend Scorpions.

The story of the band from Hannover, Germany started in 1965 but it took the guys a few years to also score some success. In 1977 the band started to work together with producer legend Dieter Dirks and released with "Taken By Force" and album that brough the band quite some attention. Seven more records followed and the success story of the five-piece started to. The band was heading from one peak to another, played huge festivals and sold millions of records.

The Scorpions uses the opportunity of the band's anniversary to re-release the eight record between 1977 and 1988. "Taken By Force", "Tokyo Tapes", "Lovedrive", "Animal Magnetism", "Blackout", "Love at First Sting""World Wide Live" and "Savage Amusement" went through a new mastering and will be re-released in a special 50th anniversary edition that also includes unreleased tracks, liner notes, photos,...

"Taken by Force" is originally from 1977 and was the last studio album with Uli Jon Roth on guitar. The album contains classic such as "He's a Woman - She's a Man" and "Steamrock Fever". But next to the songs from the regular album there are some extras on the longplayer.

"Busy Guys" is a great grooving hardrocker and also the demo version of the semi-ballad "Believe in Love" is good stuff; not only for collectors. "Midnight Blues Jam" is exactly what the title promises; a well done blues number with a Scorpions-hardrock touch. A song that was never released before is "Blue Dream". It's an instrumental that is a classic rock masterpiece. But it's also a song that was never finished. A demo version of the album track "Born to touch Your Feelings" finalizes an album that has a lot of extra value for Scorpions fans, but that is also a great opportunity for each and everybody that only knows "Winds of Change" and that wants to discover more of the iconic band.





  1. Steamrock Fever
  2. We'll Burn the Sky
  3. I've Got to be Free
  4. The Riot of Your Time
  5. The Sails of Charon
  6. Your light
  7. He's a Woman - She's a Man
  8. Born to Touch Your Feelings
  9. Suspender Love
  10. Busy Guys (Demo)
  11. Believe in Love (Demo Version)
  12. Midnight Blues Jam (Demo)
  13. Blue Dream (Unfinished Instrumental)
  14. Born to Touch Your Feelings (Demo Version)


Label: BMG/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 6th, 2015

CD review SCORPIONS "Taken by Force" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
CD review SCORPIONS "Taken by Force" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
CD review SCORPIONS "Taken by Force" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition