Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SCORPIONS "Blackout" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Veröffentlicht am 3. November 2015 von Markus W. in Scorpions, Hardrock, Heavy Metal, News, CD Review, Blackout, Power Metal, Classic Rock, NWoBHM

"Blackout" was my first Scorpions album and I think that it's still the best longplayer the band from Hannover ever released. The combination of heavy songs and the outstanding artwork by Gottfried Helnwein is an excellent symbiosis that makes the album to something very special.

But in the end it's more than this. The density of great songs is lifting this disc to a very special one. Real metal smashers like "Blackout", "Now!" and "Dynamite" shine next to midpace anthems such as "Can't Live Without You". But also the slow grooving "Arizona", a songs where you can feel the heat while listening, and the strong power ballad "When the Smoke is Going Down" are numbers written for eternity. There is no single filler on the album. 

Like with the other records from this anniversary series also "Blackout" has some extras. A demo version of the title track give "Blackout" a slightly different expression and with "Running For the Plane", "Sugar Man", All My Love" and "Searching For the Rainbow" the CD comes with four unreleased demo songs from the 1982 recording session.  

A DVD with the legendary performace at "Rock Pop in Concert" and a 40 minutes interview complete a very well done and valuable special edition of one of the most influencial metal records. A 'must have'.





  1. Blackout
  2. Can't Live Without You
  3. No One Like You
  4. You Give Me All I Need
  5. Now!
  6. Dynamite
  7. Arizona
  8. China White
  9. When The Smoke is Going Down
  10. Blackout (Unreleased Demo Version)
  11. Running For The Plane (Unreleased Demo Song)
  12. Sugar Man (Unreleased Demo Song)
  13. All My Love (Unreleased Demo Song)
  14. Searching For the Rainbow (Unreleased Demo Song)

Label: BMG/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 6th, 2015

CD review SCORPIONS "Blackout" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition
CD review SCORPIONS "Blackout" 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition