Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PSYCHOPUNCH "Sweet Baby Octane"

Veröffentlicht am 28. November 2015 von Markus W. in Psychopunch, Punkrock, Punk, Hardrock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Vasteras-based punk rockers Psychpunch celeberate the 'sweet baby octane' - at least this is the title of their newest longplayer which is released in these days.

JM, Lindell, Walle and Locke have recorded fourteen new songs which are framed by an intro and an outro.

After disappearing a bit form my screen, the four guys are back with a fresh and strong new album. The cover became a very colourful one and so is the music. Psychopunch is back with pure punk rock that is kicking ass again. "Sweet Baby Octane" is pretty entertaining and the music is as shiny as the cover.

Having mentioned all this I also have to state that Psychopunch's music is still far away from bubblegum punk. JM and his gang have a lot of melody in their new numbers but it never gets cheesy. The rough vocals are adding some edges to the bands sound which makes the entire album to a real cracker.

Punk rock doesn't need a lot. It's some chords, a steady pushing beat and a certain attitude. Yes, it might need a few more things, but it's the simplicity combined with great hooklines that makes records like "Sweet Baby Octane" to good ones. Punk rock isn't about perfection. It's about power and roughness. Psychopunch delivers both on the new longplayer.

"Sweet Baby Octane" is the right musical fuel in the grey European autumn. Good stuff from a band that all of a sudden got on my radar again.





  1. Intro
  2. I've Been Around
  3. On a Night Like This (Hell Yeah)\
  4. Forever and a Day
  5. Turn Up The Radio
  6. When You're Out of Town
  7. Drinking Alone
  8. So High
  9. Masquerade
  10. What Did I Say
  11. Time is on Our Side
  12. Punkrocker
  13. The New Alive
  14. Showtime's Over
  15. Outro


Label: SPV Steamhammer

Genre: Punk Rock

Release Date EU: November 20st, 2015


CD review PSYCHOPUNCH "Sweet Baby Octane"