Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PINKISH BLACK "Bottom of the Morning"

Veröffentlicht am 21. November 2015 von Markus W. in Pinkish Black, Electro, Gothic, Rock, News, CD Review, Prog Rock

(8/10) What is always impressive is the width of bands and genres that are in Relapse' portfolio. Next to death metal bands like Obituary and Skinless the label also releases a lot of other stuff. Pinkish Black is one of those bands that are almost the opposite to deep growls of death metal.

The band was founded in 2010, shortly after the suicide of Tommy Atkins, bass player of The Great Tyrant. "Bottom of the Morning" is the third album of Daron Beck / Jon Teague and it's the first one for the record label from Upper Darby, Pennsylvania.

The music of the duo is very experimental. The guys combine electro sounds and synthesizers with a hard drum beat. This combination is a quite intersting one, even though I doubt if it's something interesting for metal fans.

It is more of music for fans of (dark) rock and  prog rock. The numbers have a gloomy vibe and comes also with some psychedelic elements. It's an hypnotic drum sound that emphasises this expression and gives the tunes a certain wistfulness.

Pinkish Black creates music that is special. This isn't mainstream. Those seven tracks are an intense musical experience that you should listen to in case you're looking for something special





  1. Brown Rainbow
  2. Special Dark
  3. I'm All Gone
  4. Burn My Body
  5. Everything Must Go
  6. Bottom of the Morning
  7. The Master is Away


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Experiemental Rock

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2015

CD review PINKISH BLACK "Bottom of the Morning"