Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review PHANTASMA "The Deviant Heart"

Veröffentlicht am 30. November 2015 von Markus W. in Phantasma, Delain, Everon, Serenity, Symphonic Metal, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(7/10) Phantasma is the result out of the collaboration of Georg Neuhauser (Serenity), Oliver Philipps (Everon) and Charlotte Wessels (Delain). Reading those names raises quite some expectations.

And knowing that Tom S. Englund from Evergey plus some more great musicians have been involved in this project raises the curiousity to an even higher level.

But what we can see is that names isn't the only thing that makes a record exciting. Each of the musicinas is great in his/her field of expertice and also their contribution on the "The Deviant Heart" is really good.

After having listened to the album several times I have to conclude that what I've heard isn't neither fish nor fowl. The music on "The Deviant Heart" is positioned somewhere between the Trans-Siberian Orchestra and Nightwish with a bit of Avantasia. That the main guys of Phantasma have the potential to get close to those bands from a quality point of view is undoubted. But what I miss on this album is the 'human factor', the edges and the pure emotional part. Everything sounds planned and structured. This makes the album to a more standard release with a lot of technical capabilities of the involved musicians. 

For me it feels like an idle opportunity to make something really big. The intention was there, the foundation was there, the result leaves some open questions.

However, fans of bands like Nightwish, Delain and Trans-Siberian Orchestra should check the album since I guess you will still find enough moments of joy.





  1. Incomplete
  2. The Deviant Heart
  3. Runaway Gray
  4. Try
  5. Enter Dreamscape
  6. Miserable Me
  7. The Lotus and The Willow
  8. Crimson Course
  9. Carry Me Home
  10. The Sound of Fear
  11. Novaturient
  12. Let It Die


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: November 20st, 2015

CD review PHANTASMA "The Deviant Heart"