Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL "Kingdom of Rock"

Veröffentlicht am 9. November 2015 von Markus W. in Magnus Karlsson, Primal Fear, Hardrock, Melodic Metal, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Swedish axeman Magnus Karlsson has a long history in metal. Most of you know him from his time with Primal Fear, but he also worked together with Magnum singer Bob Catley and the Kiske/Somerville project.

In 2013 the guitarist published the first album of his own band called Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall that is now followed now by the next longplayer. "Kingdom of Rock", that's the title of the new disc and I must say that omen et nomen. This record is coming with eleven metal anthems that are build on furious riffs and great hooks.

Karlsson is the mainman behind this project where he signed responsible for guitar, bass and keyboards. Jaime Salazar gave the album the right punch by his powerful drumming and next to those two guys it is the list of singers that can be heard on "Kingdom of Rock" that makes the record to an impressive one.

The list feels like the 'who is who' when it comes to rock vocalists. Jorn Lande is enriching the title track with his rough voice that works perfect as an entry point to this disc. Next songs, next singer. Jakob Samuel from The Poodles is singing on "Out of control" before no less than Joe Lynn Turner adds vocals to "No Control"; a track that goes more into AOR than melodic metal.

Actually all tracks are really cool, but I would like to highlight "A Heart of Gold". Why? The song sticks out with a really cool groove, an excellent melodyline and the vocals of Harry Hess, known from Harem Scarem.

"Kingdom of Rock" lives up to what the title promises. This album rocks. The songs are all postitioned somewhere between harder AOR and melodic metal, each of them with Karlsson's excellent guitar play as the cherry on the cake. Well done.





  1. Kingdom of Rock
  2. Out of the Dark
  3. No Control
  4. When the Sky Falls
  5. Angel of the Night
  6. I Am Coming For You
  7. Another Life
  8. Never Look Away
  9. A Heart so Cold
  10. The Right Moment
  11. Walk This Riad Alone


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: November 6th, 2015

CD review MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL "Kingdom of Rock"