Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GIRLSCHOOL "Guilty as Sin"

Veröffentlicht am 11. November 2015 von Markus W. in Girlschool, Heavy Metal, NWoBHM, Hardrock, News, CD Review, Motorhead

(7/10) To release album number 13 on a Friday 13 - what could be cooler. British metal legend Girlschool has decided to publish their newest disc on such a Friday. "Guilty as Sin" is the title of this longplayer that contains ten songs.

The four girls from London, England already en do the 70's and released some real highlights. Not for nothing it was their "Hit and Run" album that has been re-released a few month ago. Songs like "The Hunter" became small hits of the four-piece.

Girlschool might have had their ups and their downs, but they always stayed real and authentic. Expect the small glam excursion in the 80's the girls stand for straight-forward rock'n'roll. Their songs are spot-on and represent music that works best in a smaller local club. This is metal for the fans, without any airs and graces.

Therefore it doesn't surprise that also the new record is full of songs that are somewhere between metal (riffs), hardrock (melody) and punk (energy and anarchy).

"Guilty as Sin" is best when the girls push the pedal to the medal. "Take It Like a Band" belongs to those tunes, but also the furious "Night Before" marks a highlight on the longplayer.

"Come the Revolution", the opener, comes with a more moderate pace and with a lot of groove and also "Painful" belongs the the outstanding tunes on "Guilty as Sin". 

Next to those cool tracks there is a song title that sticks out - "Staying Alive". Did the girls cover the Bee Gee's song? Yes, they did and the created a pretty cool version out of this disco classic. The original version is still recognisable, but the way the four girls arranged it gives the tunes a real blues rock expression with some crunchy guitars that remind a lot of ZZ Top. Wow.

With "Treasure" the album has unfortunately also a track that doesn't really work as good as the others and "Perfect Storm" comes too trivial round the corner. But those are the exceptions on an album that sprays sonic sparks.

Produced by legendary Chris Tsangarides the new record got an excellent sound that supports the trademarks of Girlschool. "Guilty as Sin" is another album that smells like smoke, denim and leather.





  1. Come the Revolution
  2. Take it like a Band
  3. Guilty as Sin
  4. Treasure
  5. Awkward Position
  6. Staying Alive
  7. Perfect Storm
  8. Painful
  9. Night Before
  10. Everybody Loves (Saturday Night)
  11. Coming Your Way (Bonus)
  12. Tonight (Bonus)


Label: UDR/Warner

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2015

CD review GIRLSCHOOL "Guilty as Sin"