Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DIABLO "Silver Horizon"

Veröffentlicht am 7. November 2015 von Markus W. in Diablo, In Flames, Modern Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, News, CD Review

(6/10) Diable aren't rookies. The band was founded at the end of the former century and the guys scored some decent results in their home country Finland and during the last years also in Europe.

Diablo is inspired by melodic death metal the Gothenburg-style. Bands like the newer In Flames, but also Dark Tranquility, made an impression on the four-piece.

There are some tracks on the sixth album but there are also songs on the tracking list that doesn't work, at least not for my ears.

Let's start with the good stuff. The line-up of Diablo is quite stable, something that can be heard back in a tight way how they play together. Also the production of "Silver Horizon" is a really good one. The sound of the album is full of power and has a certain punch.

When it comes to the songs and the music there are tracks like "Isolation" and the midpace "Illuminati" that are quite good. In general I must say that the instrumental section is done quite well.

The biggest minus for me are the vocals and the vocal lines. It's the way of shouting melodic vocals that sounds strange and also the phrasing is at least you need to get used to. For me it's either metalcore shouts are more rough melodic thrash vocals that would work. But this mix is not my cup of tea. The title track e.g. is very well done from the music itself, but the vocals are threatening this positive expression. To say it with Metallica, the band was supporting live, "Sad, but true", esp. considering the fact that this has been far better on longplayers like "Icaros".

But even though the band gained a solid fan base during all these years this album is a step back.





  1. The Call
  2. Isolation
  3. The Serpent Holder
  4. Into the Void
  5. Illuminati
  6. Prince of the Machine
  7. Silver Horizont
  8. Savage
  9. Corium Black
  10. Voyage to Eternity


Label: Sakara Records

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2015

CD review DIABLO "Silver Horizon"