Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DANZIG "Skeletons"

Veröffentlicht am 13. November 2015 von Markus W. in Danzig, Dark Metal, Punkrock, Heavy Metal, Doom Metal, Alternative Rock, News, CD Review

(7/10) "Skeletons" is the name of Glenn Danzig's tenth studio record. It's a new release even though the singer with the unique voice worked on it already since many years. "Skeletons" isn't a regular studio album with new Danzig songs. Instead of it's a collection of cover song arranged the Danzig-way.

The variety of tunes the muscle man recorded is wide and open to many directions. Elvis Presley's "Let Yourself Go" got a new appeal and the same goes for "Crying in the Rain" from The Everly Brothers. But it's not only those classics that were turned into a dark Danzig sound. Also the mighty "N.I.B." from Black Sabbath has been newly interpreted.

These are the song that are Danzig's musical skeleton and the iconic singer finally had a chance to record them and press them on a new album.

But Danzig wouldn't be Danzig if there would be no link to 'horror' and 'satan' on the album. That's why, next to rock'n'roll idol Elvis Presley, also songs like "Satan" from Satans Sadists and "Devil's Angel" from Roger Corman's biker movie with the same title found a spot on the tracklist.

I was quite happy to hear 'new' material from Danzig and in the end the album became an OK one. It's not as thrilling as I hoped but it contains some really good covers. However, none of those new arranged versions (I'm not talking about the originals here) gets close to Danzig classics such as "Mother", "Sinistas" or the irresistable "Dirty Black Summer".





  1. Devil's Angels
  2. Satan from Satans
  3. Let Yourself Go
  4. NIB
  5. Lord of the Thighs
  6. Action Woman
  7. Rough Boy
  8. With a Girl Like You
  9. Find Somebody
  10. Crying in the Rain


Label: AFM

Genre: Dark Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2015

CD review DANZIG "Skeletons"