Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review ONE OK ROCK "35xxxv"

Veröffentlicht am 28. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in One OK Rock, Modern Rock, Rock, News, CD Review, Glam, Post Punk

(6/10) Heavy Metal and Japan is for me: Loudness. Those guys left more than a footprint in metal coming from the land of the rising sun. But that was decades ago and the next generation took over. If the result is what you like is something you have to decide for your own. 

However, One OK Rock is one of those current hyped bands that are pretty successful in Japan. The four piece, that started in 2005, is playing modern rock, in the broadest meaning of the word. On the one hand there are sugar sweet melodies next to some samples and on the other side there are hard guitars plus almost metalcore screams.

"35xxxv" got an excellent sound. The album is produced very well. It almost too clean and a few edges would have been very welcome.

Some metalcore screams doesn't make the album to a heavy one. Tracks like the cheesy "Heartache" really gives you one. Compared to this song even Poison sounds heavy. This album is pretty vanilla. Exchangable music that is catchy but without any soul, that's One OK Rock.

One OK Rock might sell a lot of this album that is made for the mainstream market. But what I miss is the own identity of the band's sound. It feels like a casting band was formed to earn money. 

...but the album inspired me to put my old Loudness records on the player. Just something good for the ears.





  1. 3xxxv5
  2. Take me to the Top
  3. Cry Out
  4. Suddenly
  5. Mighty Long Fall
  6. Heartache
  7. Memories
  8. Decision (feat. Tyler Carter)
  9. Paper Planes (feat. Kellin / Sleeping With Sirnes)
  10. Good Goodbye
  11. One by One
  12. Stuck in the Middle


Label: Warner Records

Genre: Modern Rock

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2015


CD review ONE OK ROCK "35xxxv"