Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MIDGE URE "Breathe Again: Live and Extended"

Veröffentlicht am 31. Oktober 2015 von Markus W. in Midge Ure, Ultravox, Thin Lizzy, Rock, Acoustic, Visage, Prog Rock, CD Review, News

(8/10) To mention each of the important musical mielstones of Midge Ure would be a very long list of bands and projects the iconic musicians was involved in.

I don't think that such an outstanding career was to foresee when Ure started in 1976 with Silk, releasing the first single called "Forever and ever". What happened during the next almost four decades was a success story that doesn't happen that often. Thin Lizzy, Ultravox, Visage and Band Aid, those are just some of the bands and projects Ure enriched with his creativity and passion for music.

"Breathe Again: Live and Extended" is, in one or another way, a view back and it is the 1995 release "Breathe" that builds the base for this live album. By purpose "Breathe" was build on celtic influences with various acoustic instruments and the long player became a bit success.

Midge Ure wants to revitalize this spirit of "Breathe" by performing the entire album live on stage. "Breathe Again: Live and Extended" is the capturing of this endeavour.

The live album can be split in two parts. Section one is consisting out of the eleven tracks from the mentioned album, all in a pure acoustic version. But on top of it the album also comes with highlights like "Vienna", "Fade to Grey" and "If I was"; songs that are alltime classics. What makes those tunes special on this live release is the fact that they are re-arrenged and also fully acoustic. This gives the songss a totally new expression.

Midge Ure publishes with "Breathe Again: Live and Extended" an excellent live album that includes milestones in rock. To recommend.





  1. Breathe
  2. Fields of Fire
  3. Fallen Angel
  4. Free
  5. Guns and Arrows
  6. Lay My Body Down
  7. Sinnerman
  8. Live Forever
  9. Trails of Tears
  10. Lay Your Good Lord
  11. The Maker
  12. Vienna
  13. Fade to Grey
  14. If I Was
  15. Lament
  16. Dear God
  17. All Fall Down
  18. Fragile
  19. Become


Label: Oblivion/SPV

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: October 30st, 2015

CD review MIDGE URE "Breathe Again: Live and Extended"