Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review NEW YEARS DAY "Malevolence"

Veröffentlicht am 22. September 2015 von Markus W. in New Years Day, Nu Metal, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News

(7/10) Latest since Lacuna Coil female-fronted modern metal became a subgenre that is well established. It it has been bands like the Italian five-piece that influenced quite some other groups during the last 20 years.

New Years Day, that started in 2005 is one of those bands that play nu metal, fronted by singer Ashely Costello. And it's her that is the only founding member that is still active in the band. New Years Day went though quite some line-up changes, esp. in the last 1,5 years.

This renewed line-up worked on the third album of New Years Day. The longplayer is called "Malevolence" twelve new metal tracks that are a mixture of nu metal and modern metal. The sound of the new studio release is quite aggressive. The main feelings transported by the music are anger based on betrayal, insecurity and loss. I think that the band, and Castello, processed own experiences which gives the album a very authentic feel. This record sound is real and not made-up which is also the big plus with this disc.

If the kind of freaky and gothic make-up of the four guys is needed I don't know. It looks a bit funny to me. However, the music on "Malevolence" sound heavy, fresh and authentic. Not more and not less.





  1. Kill Or Be Killed
  2. I'm About To Break You
  3. Alone
  4. Left Inside
  5. Relentless
  6. Save Myself From Me
  7. Suffer
  8. Anthem Of The Unwanted
  9. Scream
  10. Your Ghost
  11. Defame Me
  12. Malevolence


Label: Another Century

Genre: Nu Metal

Release date EU: October 2nd, 2015

CD review NEW YEARS DAY "Malevolence"