Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MYRKUR "M"

Veröffentlicht am 5. September 2015 von Markus W. in Myrkur, Black Metal, Death Metal, Folk Metal, News, CD Review

(5/10) "M" is the second strike of Danish one woman black metal project Myrkur. And as with the last release also this longplayer is bizarr and extreme. This isn't mainstream at all. This is music that you either like or you dislike. There is no inbetween.

Myrkur combines rude black metal parts with folk elements and often very melodic female vocals. I have to admit that those extremes are interesting but the entire album sounds still too scattered. There are the romatic moments like in "Onde børn" which can be seen as highlights on "M". Even Enya-like songs found a place on the tracklist. "Vølvens spådom" is one of them. The classic female vocals go also good together with heavy guitar riffs. But there are those extreme black metal outbreaks too.

Those are the moments I don't like. The situations when Amalie Bruun moves from fragile melodic to screeching black feel more like shocking moments than something that enrichs the song. Those parts are hard to take and not my thing.

Myrkur shows some development on "M" compared to the debut, but it stays music for the underground. If she will focus more on the music and less on the whole mystic image that surrounds "M", Myrkur will have a relastic chance to get out of this niche. But maybe she doesn't want to; could be. So far it's more hype than substance.





  1. Skøgen skulle dø
  2. Hævnen
  3. Onde børn
  4. Vølvens spådom
  5. Jeg er Guden, I er Tjenerne
  6. Nordlys
  7. Mordet
  8. Byssan Lull
  9. Dybt i Skoven
  10. Skadi
  11. Norn


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Black Metal

Release date EU: August 21st, 2015

CD review MYRKUR "M"