Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review MONSTER MAGNET "Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)"

Veröffentlicht am 28. September 2015 von Markus W. in Monster Magnet, Rock, Classic Rock, Hardrock, Stoner Rock, Psychedelic Rock, News, CD Review

(8/10) Yes, they did it again. After having had quite some success and fun with re-arranging "Last Patrol" Dave Wyndorf and his gang took the next album. The guys went back in time and re-worked the "Mastermind" record from 2010.

"Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)" is the name of this longplayer that comes with 10 completely re-arranged songs. Even the names of some of the track have been reworked. You can still see the reference to the original one - however the expression differs quite a lot.

"Cobras and Fire" is a psychedelic space rock journey that is reflected by the colorful cover very well. Even though you might be very familiar with "Mastermind" you can go for this record without hesitation. It's a totally new album and not a cheap copy of the original. Monster Magnet remains true to their sound, but twist and tweak it in a way that it's a thrilling new trip into an unkown world.

So, where does the new expression come from. First of all the numbers on the re-arranged disc are more dirty than the original version. And in addition, as on "Milking the Stars: Re-imaginating of Last Patrol", the band played around with different 'non-metal' instruments like a sitar, piano and and organ. All this leads to a unique sound that is refined by Wyndorf's excellent vocals.

Next to the "Mastermind" songs "Cobras and Fire" also has a cover version. "Ball of Confusion" is actually from The Temptation, which you hardly can't hear anymore since Wyndorf gave the tune a pure Hawkwind expression - an experiement that was worth to do since the result sounds great.

And last but not least there is a new song on the longplayer too. It's the last song with one of the longest names in music history: "I live Behind the Paradise Machine: Evil Joe Barresi's Magnet Mash Vol.1". Actually it's not an entirely new song. Mixer Joe Barresi merged different elements and parts from various Moster Magnet songs into one track which became this almost 9 minutes long psychedelic beast in the end of "Cobras and Fire".

Enough said. Now it's time for you to get this enthralling album - relax, lean back and start the journey.





  1. She Digs That Hole
  2. Watch Me Fade
  3. Mastermind
  4. Hallucination Bomb
  5. Gods & Punks
  6. The Titan
  7. When the Planes Fall From the Sky
  8. Ball Of Confusion
  9. Time Machine
  10. I live Behind the Paradise Machine: Evil Joe Barresi's Magnet Mash Vol.1


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Psychedelic Rock

Release Date EU: October 2nd, 2015


CD review MONSTER MAGNET "Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)"