Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GLORYHAMMER "Space 1992 - Rise of the Chaos Wizard"

Veröffentlicht am 25. September 2015 von Markus W. in Gloryhammer, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, News, Speed Metal, Symphonic Metal, CD Review

(7/10) Honestly, I'm not the best friend of blown-up bombastic highspeed power metal. Bands like Dragonforce never made a real impression on me. Therefore my excitement when I received the new Gloryhammer wasn't sky high.

The Scotish guys have released already one album in 2013 before they are coming up in these days with their newest beauty called "Space 1992: Rise of the Chaos Wizard". I pressed the 'Start'-button more with a feeling like "OK. Here we go". The dramatic intro "Infernus Ad Astra" confirmed my wildest dreams. More like from a soundtrack for a pirate movie than an introduction to a metal album the first tones lead you to the fast "Rise of the Chaos Wizard". And to my surprise the song sounds quite good. Even though this kind of clicheful metal isn't something new Gloryhammer manages to play it in an entertaining way. The fast parts sounds a bit like Hammerfall on ADHD, but there is enough exciting moments in the title track that makes fun.

Also metal anthems like "The Hollywood Hootsman" and "Goblin King of the Darkstorm Galaxy" are melodic songs that don't demand a long adjustment period. Catchy tunes with hard riffs and a booming rhythm section, that's what you can expect; all of them well-crafted.

Even the 9 minutes long "Apocalypse 1992" is a varied piece of metal music that has an extended cineastic appeal.

Only "Questlords of Inverness Ride to the Galactic..." became bit of to much pop. It's nothing wrong with catchy songs, but this tune got a too much sugar.

So, what to conclude. Gloryhammer's new album is cooler than what I thought in the beginning. The loud and 'special' artwork shouldn't be misleading. The sound is far  better than the visual. Even though you might not liked the bands debut it's worth to check the band's second album. I had to partly adjust my opinion.





  1. Infernus Ad Astra
  2. Rise of the Chaos Wizards
  3. Legend of the Astral Hammer
  4. Goblin King of the Darkstorm Galaxy
  5. The Hollywood Hootsman
  6. Victorious Eagle Warfare
  7. Questlords of Inverness Ride to the Galactic...
  8. Universe on Fire
  9. Heroes (of Dundee)
  10. Apocalypse 1992
  11. Dundax Aeterna


Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2015



CD review GLORYHAMMER "Space 1992 - Rise of the Chaos Wizard"