Overblog Folge diesem Blog
Edit post Administration Create my blog

(10/10) Already one year after the fantastic debut, Gamma Ray released their second full-length longplayer. Could the new founded band live up to the high expectations they set with "Heading for tomorrow"? Already the first songs made very clear, that Gamma Ray is back even stronger. "Sign no more" came with 10 new songs that have been better than what we heard on the very well perceived debut - a fact that surprised even more since there have been some line-up changes too at that time. "Sign no more" was the first album with Dirk Schlächter. First on the six-string, later on playing bass, Schlächter is still member of the band and an important pillar in the Gamma Ray construction.

"Sign no more" comes with an even higher density of metal classics than the highly appreciated debut. The high-pace "Rich and famous" is still one of my most favorite Gamma Ray songs and the same goes for the power ballad "Father and son". And last but not least the album contains with "Dream Healer" one of the best Gamma Ray songs ever.

Again, those songs have went through a re-mastering and like it was with the debut it's the tracks on CD 2 that are the 'cream topping' when it comes to this anniversary edition. Demo sing with Kai doing the vocals plus some live recordings found a spot on this disc. Little highlight for me is the "One with the world" recording from the Wacken 2001 show, when the well-known open air was far less big than it is today. All those add-ons make the re-release to something special that should at least be a 'must' for each die-hard Gamma Ray fan.





CD 1:

  1. Changes
  2. Rich and famous
  3. As time goes by
  4. (We won't) Stop the war
  5. Father and son
  6. One with the world
  7. Start running
  8. Countdown
  9. Dream healer
  10. The spirit
  11. Sail on (Live)
  12. Changes (Live)

CD 2:

  1. One with the world (Live at Waken 2001)
  2. Dream healer (Live in Montreal 2006)
  3. Changes (Blast from the past version)
  4. One with the world (Blast from the past version)
  5. Dream healer (Blast from the past version)
  6. Heroes (Pre-production)
  7. Dream healer (Pre-production)
  8. As time goes by (Pre-production - Kai on vocals)
  9. We won't stop the war (Pre-production - Kai on vocals)
  10. Dream healer (Demo - Kai on vocals)
  11. ​Rich and famous (Demo - Kai on vocals)


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2015


CD review GAMMA RAY "Sign no more" (Anniversary edition)
Tag(s) : #Gamma Ray, #Heavy Metal, #Power Metal, #News, #CD Review, #Helloween, #Speed Metal

Diesen Post teilen

Repost 0
Um über die neuesten Artikel informiert zu werden, abonnieren: