Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GAMMA RAY "Heading for the East" (Anniversary edition)

Veröffentlicht am 19. September 2015 von Markus W. in Gamma Ray, Primal Fear, Heavy Metal, Power Metal, Speed Metal, News, CD Review, Live

(8/10) Another highlight of Gamma Ray's anniversary releases is the live album called "Heading for the East". The longplayer was recorded in November 1990 and contains a show that was performed in Tokyo, Japan. The original release was on VHS (for younger readers: this was the predecessor of a DVD). "Heading for the East" was never released on vinyl or on CD; at least to my knowledge. This means that the CD version is a great thing for each Gamma Ray fan. Finally this pretty cool show is available as audio publishing.

Most of the songs are from the band's debut "Heading for tomorrow", plus a few Helloween songs that have been performed that night too. Esp. to listen to "Ride the sky" from Helloween's ""Walls of Jericho" album  is great experience. Another highlight, actuall THE highlight, on this live album is the last song. The debut's title track "Heading for tomorrow" was extended to a fabulous 24 minutes version that puts a spell on you. When it comes to me, this is one of the best versions of  this song ever.

The sound of the album is pretty good, esp. considering that it was recorded in the 90's when 'digital' was more something scary than common. "Heading for the East" sound authentic, by still having a diversified sound with a good mix. That's how a live album has to be.

Even if you might call some if Gamma Ray later releases your own it is worth to invest the money for this longplayer. The joy of listening to the band in an early stage with Ralf Scheppers on vocals and Hansen focussing on guitar is a great onw.





CD 1:

  1. Intro
  2. Lust for life
  3. Heaven can wait
  4. Space eater
  5. Free time
  6. Who do you think you are

CD 2:

  1. The silence
  2. Save us
  3. I want out
  4. Ride the sky/Hold your ground
  5. Money
  6. Heading for tomorrow


Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: September 25th, 2015

CD review GAMMA RAY "Heading for the East" (Anniversary edition)