Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review DIE KRUPPS "V - Metal Machine Music"

Veröffentlicht am 21. September 2015 von Markus W. in Die Krupps, EBM, Heavy Metal, CD Review, News, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, Electro

(7/10) After having been started as an EBM band Die Krupps fom Germany became interesting for metalheads in the beginning of the 90's when they released their interpretation of Metallica songs. Under the banner of "A Tribute to Metallica" Jürgen Engler and co. added a total new expression to metal hymns such as "For Whom The Bell Tolls". From this moment on metal found more and more a way into Die Krupps' sound, which ended in a trilogy of records called "I", "II - The Final Option" and "III - Odyssey Of The Mind". Especially the last two longplayers have been very interesting since Heathen guitarist Lee Altus joined the band and enriched the EBM sound with his great guitar riffing. The result has been songs like the brilliant "Fatherland", To The Hilt" and "Isolation".

After having published the fourth episode called "Paradise Now" the metal era of Die Krupps ended; actually the band disbanded. A few years later the guys came back, mainly in the original line-up and focussed again more on the early EBM days. 

Therefore it was big and positive surprise to me when I got "V - Metal Machine Music" on my desk. Die Krupps go back to the metal days and add again crunchy guitar riffs to their sound. Even though Marcel Zürcher isn't Lee Altus the riffs are mighty and very much spot-on.

The best song on "V - Metal Machine Music" is called "Fly Martyrs Fly" that tells the story of the Germanwing plane crash in the French Alpes from earlier this year. For the rest the tunes sounds like a mix of "To The Hilt" and "Fatherland". Pretty hot stuff.

"Koas Reigns" is, as the title promises, a chaotic sound collage existing out of samples and riffs. The track sounds like a metallic version of a Nitzer EBB song. You should also walk across "The Red Line"; a midpace song that comes is build on bigger soundscapes.

With "Kaltes Herz" the "V - Metal Machne Music" also comes with a German number. It's a grooving song that has the potential to become an indie club hit. 

Die Krupps is one of the dinosaurs of the Neue Deutsche Härte. It was Rammstein that got famous but it was Die Krupps who was one of the first bands experimenting with electronic samples and harsh riffs. Something that still asks for respect. 





CD 1:

  1. Die Verdammten
  2. Kaltes Herz
  3. Battle Extreme
  4. Fly Martyrs Fly
  5. The Truth
  6. Road Rage Warrior
  7. The Vampire Strikes Back
  8. Alive In A Glass Cage
  9. Branded
  10. Kaos Reigns
  11. The Red Line
  12. Bonded By Blood
  13. Volle Kraft Voraus

CD 2:

  1. Kaltes Herz (Reworked by Darkhaus)
  2. Alive In A Glass cage (Remixed by Faderhead)
  3. Road Rage Warrior '82
  4. Battle Extreme (Demo)
  5. Kaos Reigns (Demo)
  6. The Vampire Strikes Back (Demo)
  7. Kaltes Herz (Demo)
  8. Alive In A Glass Cage (Demo)


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Electro Metal

Release Date EU: August 28th, 2015

CD review DIE KRUPPS "V - Metal Machine Music"