Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BLACK TRIP "Shadowline"

Veröffentlicht am 28. August 2015 von Markus W. in Black Trip, Heavy Metal, News, Power Metal, Hardrock, Classic Rock, CD Review

(8/10) It feels like August becomes the month of Swedish classic rock releases. Imperial State Electric has a new album out, Dead Lord has published their second longplayer and also Black Trip comes with a new disc.

"Shadowline" is the next step for Black Trip. "Goin under", the first step, was almost a solo effort of Stjärnvind and Tholl but upcoming tour activities forced them to add a second guitarist, a bassist and a drummer. The five guys had to find each other and the tour helped.

The result is "Shadowline"; an album that sounds tighter than the debut. It still comes with the unleashed power that's known from the first longplayer, but it feels more like a complete band that made use of each individual potential - with the passion for metal that acts as glue inbetween.

The record is full of cool songs. There is e.g. the raffish "Berlin model 32", the fast "Clockworks" and the grooving closer "Coming home".

The five minutes long "The storm" stands out. It has an acoustic beginning before a first soulful guitar riff joins the party. After a louder sound eruption it continues calmer, just to build up again with raging screams of Tholl. Halfway the tune turns into a NWoBHM inspired number that belongs to the best ones on "Shadowline".

The sound of "Shadowline" was in the responsibility of Nicke Andersson, mainman of Imperial State Electric. His passion for music and understanding of classic rock led to an excellent sonic result on "Shadowline". The record has the right mix between a warm rock sound and the strong punch.

Black Trip manages to dust 70's rock and 80's metal. The songs of the five-piece sounds great and awakes memories of 'older' metalheads. At the same time the guys open a door for the younger generation that shows them some roots of their favorite music. 

If you have been impressed by Black Trip's debut you will love too.





  1. Die with me
  2. Danger
  3. Shadowline
  4. Berlin model 32
  5. Over the worldly walls
  6. Clockworks
  7. Rooms
  8. Subvisual sleep
  9. The storm
  10. Coming home


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release date EU: August 28, 2015

CD review BLACK TRIP "Shadowline"