Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review SACRILEGE "Ashes to ashes"

Veröffentlicht am 7. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Sacrilege, NWoBHM, Heavy Metal, Rock, Power Metal, News, CD Review

(8/10) Sacrilege - there are some bands with this name. Here we are talking about the NWoBHM veterans from the UK that started in 1982. The band didn't release more than two demos before they dibanded in 1987.

It was twenty years later when Bill Beadle put again some more effort into the band. The result was a compilation and an album.

After such a history the band is releasing a new album as we speak. "Ashes to ahses" is the name of the longplayer, containing fourteen songs. The record feels like a journey back in time. No doubt that there is a lot of NWoBHM in each of the songs. Sometimes it's a bit more Accept, other moments reminded me the the early Running Wild and so on. Even some punk roots are still included in Sacrilege's sound ("Rulers and destructors").

The pleasure with "Ashes to ashes" is the perfect imperfection. This starts with the sound of the album, which is a very good one. But it is also far away from an overdone production. This is the first factor which gives the album some own character. This is the sound of the 80's 

The songs are also spreading a kind of raw charme. It is more the passion that rules the game. Tunes like "The traveller", the pushing "Rock'n'roll with the devil" and the title track "Ashes to ashes" are a treat for each of you that has been part of the NWoBHM.

A track that stands out too is "The unkown soldier" which is an eight minutes long epos that follows very much one pattern by still being exciting enough to keep the finger away from the skip-button.

I like "Ashes to ashes" where older demo stuff meets new songs. Cool stuff \m/





  1. The traveller
  2. The dawn it dies
  3. Rock'n'roll with the devil
  4. Condemned
  5. The ruler
  6. Feeling on the humans
  7. The fight back
  8. Rulers and destructors
  9. Ascention
  10. Help
  11. Ashes to ashes
  12. The unkown soldier
  13. Gates of hell
  14. Evolution


Label: Karthago Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release date EU: June 26th, 2015

CD review SACRILEGE "Ashes to ashes"