Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review JUNGLE ROT "Order shall prevail"

Veröffentlicht am 9. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Jungle Rot, Obituary, News, Heavy Metal, Thrash Metal, Death Metal, CD Review

(7/10) Even though Jungle Rot never belonged to the first league of American death metal, the band from Wisconsin is around already since 1994 and released so far seven full-length records. The last one was entitled "Terror regime" and came out in 2013.

Two years later it's time for the next longplayer. "Order shall prevail" is the name of the disc that provides you with ten death metal anthems that are pretty good.

Jungle Rot focuses on oldschool death metal with quite some thrash elements - like in the opener "Doomsday". The scream in the beginning sounds almost like being done by Tom Araya from Slayer.

The four-piece doesn't floor the gas pedal all the time. The guys have their fast moments like in "I cast the first stone" and "Trench tactics". But even those songs come with intelligent breaks. Those give the tunes a certain groove which makes them far more interesting than just sticking to high speed.

"Paralyzed prey" is one of those more moderate paced songs that feels like a huge sonic steam roller coming closer and closer. It's bands like Obituary you should think about in case you haven't heard from Jungle Rot before. 

The fact that Jungle Rot has a certain status in the metal underground is underlined by the fact that it's Soulfly's Max Cavalera supporting them on "Fight where you stand". This tunes combines the fast sparts with slower verse sections what makes the track to one of the best ones on the album.

I like "Order shall prevail". It's a solid death metal album that is very entertaining.





  1. Doomsday
  2. Paralyzed prey
  3. Blood revenge
  4. Fight where you stand (feat. Max Cavalera)
  5. Order shall prevail
  6. The dread pestilence
  7. I cast the first stone
  8. E.F.K.
  9. Trench tactics
  10. Nuclear superior


Label: Victory Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release date: Already released

CD review JUNGLE ROT "Order shall prevail"