Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review BOBAFLEX "Anything that moves"

Veröffentlicht am 11. Juli 2015 von Markus W. in Bobaflex, Hardrock, Nu Metal, Modern Metal, Alternative Metal, News, CD Review

(6/10) It was in 1988 when Shaun and Marty McCoy started Bobaflex. The two guys share the vocals and guitar with Dave Tipple, while Tommy Johnson (d) and Jymmy Tolland (b) complete the current line-up.

The five guys recorded Bobaflex's seventh album called "Anything that moves" that will be released as we speak via Eternal Sound. 

The album starts with a short intro that includes some radio samples before "Start a war" kicks off a metal riot. The heavy guitars set the tone of voice and give the song its personality. The vocallines are a bit more melodic which gives the tune a certain catchiness. A good start into the album.

And that wasn't the only cool song on "Anything that moves". "Mama (Don't take my drugs away")" is a rhythm based hardrock song that reminds to Mötley Crüe and Alice Cooper's "Hey stupid". "Show me" is a grooving rock song while "Turn me on" brings the soft side of the tough guys up to the surface. The ballad is OK even though it might not be a real highlight on "Anything that moves". I would say: solid.

Next to those songs there are a some numbers that are more average. "You don't want to know" sounds like heard many times before and "Dry your eyes" isn't that thrilling either.

To sum up: Bobaflex adds an album to their discograpgy that has some good moments. It is well produced and it feels authentic. On the other hand there are moment where I was close to press the skip button. "Anyhting that moves" is a longplayer that is OK, but doesn't include real highlights.





  1. Burn them all
  2. Start a war
  3. Lose control
  4. Dry your eyes
  5. Mam (Don't take my drugs away)
  6. A spider in the dark
  7. Show me
  8. Objectified
  9. Turn me on
  10. You don't want to know
  11. Pray to the devil
  12. End of thw orld
  13. Forgiven
  14. Bad man (from "Charlatan's web")
  15. I'm glad you're dead (from "Charlatan's web")
  16. Never coming back (from "Charlatan's web")


Label: Eternal Sound

Genre: Modern Hardrock

Release date EU: July 17th, 2015

CD review BOBAFLEX "Anything that moves"
CD review BOBAFLEX "Anything that moves"