Markus' Heavy Music Blog

My world of music - est. 2013

CD review GLORIA VOLT "Recharged

Veröffentlicht am 24. Juni 2015 von Markus W. in Gloria Volt, ACDC, Kiss, News, Rock, CD Review, Hardrock, Heavy Metal

(7/10) If you take lot of AC/DC and you spice it up with some Kiss and some Aerosmith, than you will get the sound that you can enjoy on "Recharged" - the new album from Gloria Volt. The longplayer follows "The sign" from 2013 and comes with eight new songs. 

And here we have already a weak spot. Eight songs and 33 minutes is far below the standard in these days. The album is more a kind of longer EP than a full-length album.

However, we also could say that at least the eight tracks are all OK. So why adding two more fillers just to reach the 45 minutes. Tracks like the opener "Need a kick" definitely gives you the kick and the grooving "Screaming for Hollywood" reminds more to California than to Switzerland.

What is a bit strange is the cover of the album. It doesn't really support the music and the drawing feels more like being the result of the first three sessions of a painting training.

So what, the music counts which means that next to the tunes also the production needs to be OK. And that's the case. The eight numbers are powerful produced by not overdoing it. It fits.

Gloria Volt doesn't re-define hardrock. But the might 'recharge' it with their passion for AC/DC & Co.. This kind of music works on every party. 





  1. Need a kick
  2. Flyin' and rollin'
  3. Screaming for Hollywood
  4. All I want
  5. Gonna roll
  6. Down by the highway
  7. Get ready
  8. This way in


Label: LuxNoise

Genre: Hardrock

CD review GLORIA VOLT "Recharged